After all the necessary bickering and deliberating, the Canadian media folk that make up the Polaris Music Prize jury have announced this year’s heavily anticipated longlist. Here it is, in full (keep reading below for more information on both the prize and this year’s various ceremonies):

A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Alaclair Ensemble – Les maigres blancs d’Amérique du Noir
ANCIIENTS – Heart of Oak
Besnard Lakes – Until In Excess, Imperceptible UFO
Louis-Jean Cormier – Le Treizième Étage
Evening Hymns – Spectral Dusk
Hannah Georgas – Hannah Georgas
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Chilly Gonzales – Solo Piano II
Jim Guthrie – Takes Time
Hayden – Us Alone
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
KEN Mode – Entrench
Kid Koala – 12 bit Blues
Kobo Town – Jumbie in the Jukebox
Pierre Lapointe – Punkt
Lee Harvey Osmond – The Folk Sinner
Les soeurs Boulay – Le poids des confettis
Corb Lund – Cabin Fever
The Luyas – Animator
Mac DeMarco – 2
Majical Cloudz – Impersonator
Metric – Synthetica
Danny Michel with the Garifuna Collective – Black Birds Are Dancing Over Me
AC Newman – Shut Down The Streets
Old Man Luedecke – Tender is The Night
Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops
Peter Peter – Une version améliorée de la tristesse
Purity Ring – Shrines
Rah Rah – The Poet’s Dead
Rhye – Woman
Daniel Romano – Come Cry With Me
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Suuns – Images du futur
Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
Al Tuck – Stranger at the Wake
Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine

With that out of the way, the prize’s panel of music writers, thinkers, movers and shakers have the tough task of narrowing the 40-album list down to ten for the Short List, which is set to be unveiled on July 16th at Toronto’s Drake Hotel. The winner is then announced a few months later, again in Toronto (The Carlu), on September 23rd.

While this is the first time the gala will be open to the public, we’re going to be live streaming the whole thing for anyone who can’t make it. See you in July! (And then September!)

Established in 2006, the Polaris Prize is a celebration of the year’s best Canadian album independent of commercial success. Chosen by a jury of more than 200 media members based solely on artistic merit, the Polaris Prize jurors work their way through the year’s best in Canadian music before eventually settling on a winner worthy of its $30,000 prize.

Recommended Videos: